CAMP RUPERTO KANGLEON, Palo, Leyte - At the start of the election period, a signing of a peace covenant has been scheduled in the considered election ''priority area'' in Eastern Visayas. Interior and Local Government Secretary Mar Roxas will witness the signing of the peace covenant among the police, church leaders, and local candidates in Samar. Chief Superintendent Elmer Ragadio Soria, the regional police director, expressed gratitude to Roxas for his support for the activity aimed at ensuring a peaceful conduct of elections in Leyte. (PIA)


CEBU CITY - The Balik Cebu Committee, along with local tourism stakeholders, is anticipating an increase in the number of ''balikabayan'' arrivals to Cebu for this year's Sinulog celebrations. Traditionally we only accommodate 200 seats for the welcome dinner but because of the increase in awareness of the campaign, we have added up to 500 to 600 seats,'' said Balik Cebu Chairperson Teta Baad. Baad also said they are rearranging the tie-ups with existing programs of private sector tourism organizations like Cebu Association of Tour Operators and the Ng Khai Group to include more attractions and offerings to balikbayan travelers. (Malou Mozo)


ILOILO CITY, Iloilo - Iloilo Governor Arthur Defensor Sr. disclosed that the entire management and operation of the Iloilo Provincial Integrated Jail (IPIJ) will be turned over to the Bureau of Jail Management and Penology (BJMP-6). Defensor said the Iloilo provincial government is ready to pull out all guards from the jail compound in Nanga village of Pototan town by end of February or early March this year. ''All manpower for operation and manpower of the IPIJ will be under the BJMP,'' Defensor reiterated. (Tara Yap)


CAMP RUPERTO KANGLEON, Palo, Leyte - To enhance mobility, the Police Regional Office in Eastern Visayas distributed recently motorcycles to 17 police stations in the region. ''This is part of the capability enhancement and part of the strategic focus of the new PNP chief,'' said Chief Superintendent Elmer Soria, PRO8 director. Soria identified the police station-recipients as Albuera, Tabango, Pastrana and Leyte-Leyte, all in Leyte; Bontoc in Southern Leyte; Dolores, Oras and Sulat, all in Eastern Samar; Biri, Bobon, Victoria and Palapag, all in Northern Samar and the Marasbaras police station in Tacloban City. (PIA)


TACLOBAN CITY, Leyte - The Leyte Metropolitan Water District (LMWD) would like to inform water concessionaires their schedule of water bill collection in in the following municipalities: Palo, January 19-29; Tanauan, January 21-30; Dagami, January 22-31; Tabon-tabon and Tolosa, January 25; and Pastrana, January 29. On the other hand, areas covered for disconnection in Tacloban City on January 14-17, are as follows: J. Luna, P. Burgos, Real and Interior Real, Independencia, Magallanes and Arellano Sts., Imelda and Esperas Avenue, Pericohon, Dadison, Lukban, El Reposo, Youngfield, Utap, Sampaguita, Apitong, Sagkahan, V&G Subdivision, Calanipawan, Caibaan, and Diversion Road. (PIA)


Editor’s note:Yahoo Philippines encourages responsible comments that add dimension to the discussion. No bashing or hate speech, please. You can express your opinion without slamming others or making derogatory remarks.

  • Philippine economic growth slows to three-year low
    Philippine economic growth slows to three-year low

    Philippine economic growth in the first quarter slowed to a three-year low of 5.2 percent, well below forecasts, due to lethargic government spending and weak exports, officials said Thursday. "While growth in the private sector remains robust, the slower than programmed pace of public spending, particularly the decline in public construction, has slowed down the overall growth of the economy," Economic Planning Secretary Arsenio Balisacan told reporters. "Exports were the other source of the …

  • EM ASIA FX-Won near 2-month low on plunging yen, peso pares gains as growth weakens

    * S.Korea intervention spotted, won hits 7-year high vs yen * Philippine peso briefly weaker after Q1 growth disappoints (Adds text, updates prices) By Jongwoo Cheon SEOUL, May 28 (Reuters) - South Korea's ... …

  • Britain's tied visa rules fuel abuse of live-in maids, nannies

    By Katie Nguyen LONDON (Thomson Reuters Foundation) - When Susi, a single mother from the Philippines, left for a job in Qatar, she convinced herself it was a sacrifice worth making for her children at home. For more than a year, Susi's sacrifice involved waking before dawn and working past midnight, cooking, cleaning and looking after a Qatari family. Conditions deteriorated when Susi was brought to Britain by her boss. …

  • SE Asia Stocks - Philippines at four-month low after Q1 GDP miss

    BANGKOK, May 28 (Reuters) - Philippine shares hit a more than four-month low on Thursday after economic growth in the first quarter was slower than expected, while Thai stocks retreated after disappointing ... …

  • Philippine economic growth slows to 5.2 percent in 1Q

    Sluggish government spending slowed Philippine economic growth in the first quarter of this year, officials said Thursday. The country's gross domestic product grew by 5.2 percent in the first quarter, ... …

  • PSE to sell Makati and Ortigas offices
    PSE to sell Makati and Ortigas offices

    Set to move to a unified headquarters in Bonifacio Global City in 2016, the Philippine Stock Exchange (PSE) has issued plans to sell their offices in Makati and Ortigas. PSE President Hans Sicat issued that PSE means to sell the offices, but that they may also opt to rent them out instead. …

  • ‘Inland areas could be exposed to tsunami-like waves’
    ‘Inland areas could be exposed to tsunami-like waves’

    While strong earthquakes cause tsunamis in coastal areas, the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) warned that inland areas could also be exposed to tsunami-like waves, or seiche, if located near or around bodies of water. In a recent earthquake awareness seminar in Muntinlupa, Phivolcs supervising science research specialist Joan Salcedo explained that a seiche is a large wave similar to a tsunami, triggered by strong ground shaking from an earthquake or volcanic …

  • China gives ‘gentle reminder’ to Phl, warns small nations
    China gives ‘gentle reminder’ to Phl, warns small nations

    China gave the Philippines a “gentle reminder” last Tuesday that Beijing will not bully small countries but warned these nations not to make trouble willfully and endlessly. “Here is a gentle reminder to the Philippines: China will not bully small countries, meanwhile, small countries shall not make trouble willfully and endlessly. The Chinese Foreign Ministry also said that China would continue to build other civilian facilities on relevant maritime features in the disputed Spratly Islands …


Should Aquino be held accountable over the Mamasapano operations?

Poll Choice Options