Penthel captures Duterte Basketball League championship

Jonas Panerio

PENTHEL hoisted the championship trophy in the Duterte Basketball League after it trounced Paragsa, 69-63, in Game Two of the finals at the Capitol Parish gym, Cebu City on Sunday, November 10, 2019.

The win gave Penthel a sweep of the best-of-three finals series, 2-0.

Former Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation Inc. Mythical Five member Jerome Silva helped Penthel get the title-clinching win with his 15 points and seven rebounds while Tawe Canedo added 14 markers and five boards.

League organizer Marvin Duterte handed over the cash prize of P50,000 to Penthel while Paragsa settled for P20,000.

Former University of the Visayas Green Lancer RG Rios led Paragsa with 14 points while ex-University of Southern Philippines Foundation star James Ferraren added 12 points, five rebounds, three steals and two assists. Nino Batiquin also had 11 points, four boards and four assists in the losing cause.