PFF announces WNT roster for AFC Asian Cup qualifiers

·1 min read

THE Philippine Football Federation has announced the final roster of the Philippines Women’s Football Team for the upcoming AFC Women’s Asian Cup India 2022 qualifiers that starts on Sept. 18, 2021 in Tashkent, Uzbekistan.

The Malditas will be led by national team veterans Inna Palacios and Hali Long, the team captain and co-captain, respectively.

Seven other players that represented the country in the 2019 Southeast Asian Games have been called up to the team—Chelo Hodges, Tara Shelton, Patricia Tomanon, Sara Castañeda, Charisa Lemoran, Camille Rodriguez and Alisha del Campo.

Ryley Bugay, Sofia Harrison, Tahnai Annis, Anicka Castañeda, Rocelle Mendaño, Jessica Miclat and Camille Wilson also make their return to the squad.

Olivia Davies McDaniel, Malea Cesar, Chandler McDaniel and Alyssa Ube are debuting for the Women’s National Team, while Isabelle Mapanao and Arianna Lepage transition from the Youth squad to the Women’s Team.

The squad is mentored by head coach Marlon Maro along with assistant coaches Michael Agbayani, Jose Maria Aberasturi, Marlon Piñero, Anthony Albao and Rose Ton Bariñan.

The Philippines is in Group F with Nepal and Hong Kong. The Malditas take on Nepal on Sept. 18 and Hong Kong on Sept. 24 at the JAR Stadium.

The Malditas last played Hong Kong in the Southeast Asian Games in 2019. The Philippines drew with Hong Kong, 1-1. On the other hand, the Philippines last played Nepal in 1999.

The Philippines is the highest ranked team in Group F at No. 68. Hong Kong is ranked 78th in the world, while Nepal is rated 101st.

The Malditas had over a month of preparation for the qualifiers, wherein the team set up camp in Irvine, California. (EKA)

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting