PHLPost launches special SEA Games stamps

TO HONOR the country’s athlete and the Philippine’s hosting of this year’s “30th Southeast Asian Games,” the Philippine Postal Corporation (PHLPost) has released a new set of special commemorative stamps, souvenir sheets and official first day cover of the 2019 SEA Games.

With the games officially begun, there are 56 sports spread out over a total of 530 separate events, operating at venues in Clark, Subic, Metro Manila and other areas.

Local and foreign stamps enthusiast will have the chance to buy these colorful items featuring the SEA Games motto “We Win as One” and the four (designs) of sports discipline that include weightlifting, badminton, cycling and billiards. Each stamp costs P12.

Each stamp bears the logo of the Philippines 2019 30th SEA Games.

A special limited edition souvenir sheet of stamps covering different sports events and a stamp featuring the colorful “hands” clasped in solidarity for the South East Asian (SEA) Games are also available.

The Special Souvenir Sheet has a special die-cut embellishment to shape the silhouette of a basketball player, highlighting the popularity of the sports to the Filipinos. The price for the Special Souvenir Sheet is P67 each.

The stamps can be purchased at the Post Shop, Manila Central Post Office starting Monday, December 2.

They are also available at the Philatelic Counter; Manila Central Post Office; all Mega Manila post offices; Postal Area 2, San Fernando, La Union; Postal Area 4, San Pablo; Postal Area 5, Mandaue; Postal Area 6, Iloilo; Postal Area 7, Davao; and Postal Area 8, Cagayan de Oro.

Interested collectors may call telephone number 8527-01-08 or use the #pilipinasphilately #philippinesstamps #philately.

PHLPost in-house graphic artist Rodine Teodoro designed the colorful SEA Games stamps.

The first Southeast Asian (SEA) Games started in 1959. It is held as a biennial event. This year, there are 11 participating countries: Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Vietnam and the Philippines.

The SEA Games will run from November 30 to December 11, 2019. (PR)