'Pieta' Wins Best Picture At 33rd Blue Dragon Film Awards

MANILA, Philippines - A movie about a loan shark and a woman who claims to be his mother won the top prize at the 33rd Blue Dragon Film Awards.

"Pieta," directed by Kim Ki-Duk, bagged the best picture award at the ceremony. It edged out "Masquerade," "The Thieves," "Nameless Gangster," and "Unbowed."

The movie had earlier won the Golden Lion prize at the 69th Venice International Film Festival.

Choi Min-shik of "Nameless Gangster" won as best actor over international star Lee Byung-hun of "Masquerade," Kim Yun-Seok "Punch," Ahn Sung-Ki of "Unbowed," and Ha Jung-Woo of "Nameless Gangster."

Im Soo-jung of "All About My Wife" bagged the best actress trophy, beating Kong Hyo-Jin of "Love Fiction," Kim Min-Hee of "Helpless," Uhm Jung-Hwa of "Dancing Queen" and Jo Min-su of "Pieta."

The best director trophy went to Jung Ji-young of "Unbowed," defeating Kim Ki-Duk of "Pieta," Yun Jong-Bin of "Nameless Gangster," Choi Dong-Hun of "The Thieves" and Choo Chang-min of "Masquerade."

For the supporting awards, Ryu Seung-ryong of "All About My Wife" won as best supporting actor while Moon Jung-hee of "Deranged" won as best supporting actress.

Jo Jung-seok of "Introduction to Architecture" was adjudged as best new actor while Kim Go-eun of "Eungyo" won as best new actress.

Kim Hong-Sun of "Traffickers" bagged the best new director award over Kim Joo-Ho of "The Grand Heist," Kim Whee of "The Neighbors," Shin A-Ga and Lee Sang-Cheol of "Jesus Hospital" and Woo Sun-Ho "Over My Dead Body."

"The Thieves," which starred Kim Yoon-seok, Kim Hye-soo, Lee Jung-jae and Jeon Ji-hyun, was awarded the Box Office Audience Award.

The movie has so far been seen by 12.98 million people in Korea, becoming second the highest grossing film in Korea of all time based on number of tickets sold.

The popularity awards went to Ha Jung-woo of "Nameless Gangster," Bae Suzy of "Introduction to Architecture," Kim Soo-hyun of "The Thieves," and Gong Hyo-jin of "Love Fiction."

The winners of other awards are:

Lighting: Hong Seung-chul of "Eungyo"

Cinematography: Kim Tae-kyung of "Eungyo"

Music: Jo Young-wook of "Nameless Gangster"

Art Direction: Oh Heung-seok of "Gwang-hae, The Man Who Became King"

Technical effects: Yoo Sang-sub, Jung Yoon-heon of "The Thieves"

Screenplay: Yoon Jong-bin of "Nameless Gangster"

Short Film Award: Kang Won for the "Night"