Pirates stun Ninjas for Casa Mira title

THE fifth-seeded Pirates pulled off a huge upset with a nail-biting 123-120 win over the second-seeded Ninjas for the Casa Mira Basketball League Season 2 crown on March 15, 2020 at the Casa Mira Linao basketball court in Minglanilla, Cebu.

Jason Sebuco scorched hot with 42 points to lead the Pirates from obscurity to becoming the champions, while Brian Mabulay was a huge boost on the offensive end with 29 markers. Three other Pirates also finished in double figures - Mark Entoma had 18, Johnarie Alquilos chipped in 13 and Alex Apa-ap added 11.

Emilio Aniñon led the Ninjas with 24 in a losing effort. Dewey Ynot had 21, Jay Ellacer contributed with 18, Ian Castrodes scored 15, Jhun Carnice added 14 and Ken Panilagao chipped in 10.

Sebuco was named the Finals MVP, while Ellacer bagged Season MVP honors.

The Pirates’ Apa-ap, the Ninjas’ Ellacer and Aniñon, Lindon Gara of the Saging Warriors and Brian Divinagracia were named into the Mythical Five. (EKA)