Popcom 7 holds quiz, debate

THE Commission on Population and Development (PopCom) 7 has revealed the winners of its 2019 PopQuiz and PopDebate contests.

In the PopQuiz category, the winners were Jherry Andrei D. Arbotante of Cebu City National High School (first prize); Samuel A. Penales Jr. of Looc National High School in Lapu-Lapu City (second prize); and Dyann A. Tubio of Dauin Science High School in Negros Oriental (third prize). The PopDebate winners were Gordon Matthew Suico of Luray 2 National High School in Toledo City, Cebu (first prize); Mary Trixia Elyonne Baynesa of Science and Technology Education Center in Lapu-Lapu City (second prize); and Renan Colin Co of the University of San Carlos, Cebu City (third prize).

Some students who joined the debate were aspiring lawyers, or interested in taking up the political science course in the future.

The annual PopQuiz and PopDebate competitions were held on Dec. 3, 2019, at Crown Regency Hotel in Lapu-Lapu City, coinciding with the Department of Education’s (DepEd) Regional Festival of Talents.

The PopQuiz contest, now in its third decade, is one of the best practices of the PopCom in coordination with the DepEd.

The annual competition participated by high school students has generated the active roles of both students and coaches in analyzing, understanding and solving concerns on population management and development in the country.

For 2019, there were 19 contestants from different schools in Central Visayas. The PopDebate is a new competition, and it was coordinated with the DepEd when it was launched in 2018.

The PopQuiz and PopDebate first prize winners—Arbotante and Suico, respectively—will compete sometime this year in Isabela for the national competition.

The judges of the PopQuiz contest were lawyer Bruce Ragas, PopCom 7 director; Doris Esmero of the DepEd Lapu-Lapu City Division; and Chevroleta Deiparine of the Department of Health 7.

Ragas also chaired the board of judges in the PopDebate contest.