President Duterte signs E.O. on travel ban vs gov’t officials, employees

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte shares a light moment with House Speaker Pantalon Alvarez as the latter celebrated his birthday at the New Tagum City Hall in Davao del Norte on January 12, 2017. KARL NORMAN ALONZO/PRESIDENTIAL PHOTO

MANILA, Philippines — Though no official document has been released yet, President Rodrigo Duterte stated that he already signed an executive order which prohibits the personnel and government officials to travel into a foreign country except if they can submit corresponding documents before the scheduled travel.

The chief executive is referring to those under his authority in the executive branch down to the local government units.

“I just signed an executive order banning travel. You let me know first and I will read. I need to know what you are going for,” said President Duterte.

He made the statement when he attended the 60th birthday celebration of House Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez, Friday night in Tagum City, Davao del Norte.

He again lambasted government officials who allegedly have no shame in using government funds and are using conferences abroad as an excuse to travel.

The President has already fired some officials who allegedly traveled abroad more than 12 times.

“They go out every convocation, convention, powwow, seminar — labas ng labas (always out). And for those who have traveled more than 12, you have to go. Hindi na ako bilib diyan sa most of the time nag-ibang bansa (I’m not impressed with officials who go abroad most of the time),” said Duterte. — Rosalie Coz | UNTV News & Rescue

The post President Duterte signs E.O. on travel ban vs gov’t officials, employees appeared first on UNTV News.