Presidential sisters want ex-SC justice as next poll chief – sources

By Delon Porcalla
Presidential sisters want ex-SC justice as next poll chief – sources

A retired Supreme Court Justice and member of the official family of the first Aquino administration is being endorsed by the presidential sisters as the next elections chief, according to unimpeachable sources.

President Aquino’s sisters led by Ballsy Cruz, according to sources, were rooting for retired SC magistrate Adolf Azcuna, who had served as press secretary of the late President Corazon Aquino.

The chairmanship of the Commission on Elections (Comelec) has been vacant since February with the retirement of Sixto Brillantes Jr.

Palace insiders said draft appointment papers prepared “before Holy Week” designated former Cadiz City mayor Rowena Guanzon as Comelec chairman, with Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board chairman Winston Ginez as well as lawyer Firdausi Abbas as commissioners.

Abbas is a lawyer for the Ampatuans who are facing mass murder charges for allegedly killing 58 people in November 2009.

After the Holy Week, however, Guanzon’s name appeared as replacement for retired commissioner Lucenito Tagle.

Azcuna served as Corazon Aquino’s chief presidential legal counsel, press secretary and acting chairman of the Presidential Commission on Good Government.

He now heads the Philippine Judicial Academy. He was among the framers of the 1987 Constitution who endorsed the Bangsamoro Basic Law for Congress’ approval.

Guanzon was named officer-in-charge mayor of Cadiz City in the late 1980s by the first Aquino administration. She had worked with the office of Senate President Franklin Drilon.

Guanzon was a classmate of now Chief Justice Ma. Lourdes Sereno in the UP College of Law.

Meanwhile, Ginez’s appointment to the Comelec was announced last week by Aquino’s celebrity-sister Kris in her television program “Kris TV” on ABS-CBN, but she did not say whether the LTFRB chief would be heading the poll body.

Among the vacancies that need to be filled are those of chairman Brillantes and commissioners Tagle and Elias Yusoph.