Sabal, Tawagin win MILO Marathon leg

Three-time MILO Marathon King Cresenciano Sabal and Janice Tawagin set the pace for the 21K division as they ruled the 37th National MILO Marathon leg in San Pablo, Laguna yesterday.

Sabal, who won the National MILO Marathon crowns in 2005, 2007 and 2009, trekked the challenging route with ease and clocked 1 hour, 17 minutes and 11 seconds to dominate the men's side. Johnny Espana crossed the finish line 20 ticks later at 1:17:38, while Bernardo Desamito Jr. came in third at 1:19:01.

Tawagin, 22, ruled the distaff side at 1:33:01, ahead of Sabal's spouse, Ailene Tolentio (1:36:37) and Marilyn Bermundo (1:42:43).

Both Sabal and Tawagin received a P10,000 cash purse and a slot in the National Finals set on Dec. 8 at the SM Mall of Asia grounds.

As an added incentive to the prestige of winning the country's premier footrace, MILO will be sending this season's MILO Marathon King and Queen to compete with the world's finest athletes at the Paris Marathon in 2014.

As an ongoing commitment to develop sports in the country, MILO's Help Give Shoes advocacy provides 500 pairs of rubber shoes to beneficiary schools in San Pablo.

The qualifying race will resume in Manila on July 28, before advancing to Iloilo (Aug. 4), Dumaguete (Aug. 11), Tagbilaran (Sept. 15), Cebu (Sept. 22), Cagayan de Oro (Sept. 29), Butuan (Oct. 6), Davao (Oct. 13), General Santos (Oct. 20), Baguio (Nov. 3), Dagupan (Nov. 10), Tarlac (Nov. 17) and Angeles (Nov. 24).

Editor’s note:Yahoo Philippines encourages responsible comments that add dimension to the discussion. No bashing or hate speech, please. You can express your opinion without slamming others or making derogatory remarks.

  • Batangas women bear ‘the cross’ to save loved ones VERA Files - The Inbox
    Batangas women bear ‘the cross’ to save loved ones

    Text and photos by Jane Dasal, VERA Files Nasugbu, Batangas—At the break of dawn on Good Friday, Celilia Zafra donned a black dress and shrouded her face with a black cloth. Then she walked to a place called “putol na … Continue reading → …

  • Chronicling the komedya in Antique VERA Files - The Inbox
    Chronicling the komedya in Antique

    By Alex C. Delos Santos, VERA Files The first time Cecile Locsin-Nava, a scholar on cultural studies in Western Visayas, came to Antique around ten years ago was to gather data for a research on the korido, or Philippine narrative … Continue reading → …

  • Ayungin dilemma Ramon Casiple - Parallaxis
    Ayungin dilemma

    China faces a dilemma in Ayungin Shoal and other contested areas. If it waits for the ITLOS—which may decide against it—it would have tacitly bound itself to UNCLOS and risk a rogue state reputation if it asserts its claim in the South China Sea. If its militarily acts now, it may face international isolation. …

Poll Choice Options