Top monthly bowlers compete for boy crown

TWENTY eight bowlers will battle for the coveted Cebu Tenpin Bowling Association (Cetba) Bowler of the Year 2019 crown on Saturday, Nov. 23, 2019, at the SM City Bowling Center.

Senior bowler Ging Francisco clinched the last slot for the Bowler of the Year Tournament after winning the Bowler of the Month competition on Saturday, Nov. 16, also at the SM City Bowling Center.

The 25-handicapperFrancisco scored 1,268 from rounds 162, 190, 171, 211, 184 and 200.

Roland Bantilan finished second with a total score of 1,267 and Mark Hodgkinson of Australia grabbed third place with a score of 1,245.

Joining Francisco in the Bowler of the Year Tournament are Micmic Miranda, Ronan Barredo, John Galindo, Docdoc Gothong, Terrence Williams, Marvin Sevilla, Hodgkinson, Bantilan, Baby Bacon, Fred Torrequemada, Eric Bucoy Ed Dilla and Rey Velarde.

The other qualifiers are Jake Yap, Joshua Galarse, Fel Alasagas, Rommel Calipay, Beth Ngo, Jojo Andal, Patrick Dale Reyes, Emi Osada, Tony Calo, Samm Lloyd, Nestor Longcanaya, Bong Supremo, Inday Aguilar and Boy Gacho.

Cetba vice-president Docdoc Gothong said the players of the Bowler of the Year tournament are all set and excited to contend for the crown.

Youthful bowler Galarse will try to go for back-to-back Bowler of the Year title. But it won’t be an easy task as he faces a slew of veteran bowlers. (RSC)