‘Ursula’ gains strength, more areas under Signal #2 – PAGASA

Marje Pelayo

MANILA, Philippines – State weather agency PAGASA hoisted tropical cyclone wind signal (TCWS) number 1 over several areas in Luzon and Visayas as severe tropical storm ‘Ursula’ continues to intensify.

As of 7:00 AM on Tuesday (December 24), the weather disturbance was located at 250 km East of Guiuan, Eastern Samar, moving towards the westward direction at 30 kph with maximum sustained winds of 100 kph and gustiness of up to 125 kph.

TS Ursula is expected to make landfall over Eastern Samar this afternoon or evening.

As such, PAGASA said, there remains a possibility that portions of Eastern Visayas will be placed under TCWS #3.

Suspension of maritime activities may be expected in areas under TCWS as rough sea conditions will prevail starting today specifically over the eastern seaboards of the country.

Similar sea conditions will be experienced this afternoon or tonight over the inland waters of Southern Luzon and Visayas while tomorrow afternoon over the western seaboards of Southern Luzon.

Thus, sea travel is risky over these areas.

The following are the areas affected by TCWS:

SIGNAL #2 (Winds of greater than 61 kph and up to 120 kph may be expected in at least 24 hours.)


  1. Romblon
  2. Albay
  3. Sorsogon
  4. Masbate including Burias and Ticao Islands


  1. Northern Samar
  2. Eastern Samar
  3. Samar
  4. Leyte
  5. Biliran
  6. Extreme northern Cebu including Bantayan and Camotes Islands
  7. Northeastern Iloilo
  8. Northern Antique
  9. Capiz
  10. Aklan

SIGNAL #1 (Winds of 30-60 kph may be expected in at least 36 hours or intermittent rains may be expected within 36 hours.)


  1. Bulacan
  2. Bataan
  3. Metro Manila
  4. Rizal
  5. Cavite
  6. Quezon
  7. Laguna
  8. Batangas
  9. Camarines Sur
  10. Camarines Norte
  11. Catanduanes
  12. Marinduque
  13. Romblon
  14. Occidental Mindoro including Lubang Island
  15. Oriental Mindoro
  16. Calamian Islands
  17. Cuyo Islands


  1. Southern Leyte
  2. The rest of northern Cebu
  3. Central Cebu
  4. Northeastern Bohol
  5. The rest of Antique
  6. The rest of Iloilo
  7. Guimaras
  8. Northern Negros Occidental
  9. Northern Negros Oriental


  1. Dinagat Islands
  2. Surigao del Norte including Siargao
  3. Bucas Grande Islands

The post ‘Ursula’ gains strength, more areas under Signal #2 – PAGASA appeared first on UNTV News.