Winners At The 5th Korea Drama Awards

MANILA, Philippines - The 5th Korea Drama Awards ceremony was held at the Gyeongnam Culture and Arts Center last Oct. 2 to recognize excellence in drama in the past year.

The ratings hit family drama "Unexpected You" (also known as "My Husband Got A Family") swept the awards, winning a total of six.

The drama's lead actress, Kim Nam Joo, won the night's "daesang" or grand award for her role as a wife who struggles to get along with the family of her husband.

She edged out Kim Soo-hyun of "The Moon That Embraces The Sun," Yoon Yeo-jeong of "Unexpected You," Uhm Tae Woong of "The Equator Man" and Han Suk Gyu of "Tree With Deep Roots" for the award.

"Unexpected You" also won as best drama over "Gentleman's Dignity," 'The Moon That Embraces The Sun," and "The Chaser."

In the acting category, Han Ji Min of "Rooftop Prince" and Kim Sang Joong of "The Chaser" won as best excellent actress and actor.

Han Ji Min was chosen over Soo Ae, Shin Se Kyung, Kim Hyun Joo and Jung Ryeo-won.

Other nominees in the best excellent actor award were So Ji Sub, Son Hyun Joo, Yoo Jun Sang, and Lee Bum Soo.

On the other hand, Lee Hee Jun of "Unexpected You" and Kwak Do Won of "Phantom" tied for the excellent actor award while Song Sun Mi of "Golden Time" won as excellent actress.

Singer and actor Seo In Guk won as best new actor for "Love Rain" while Yoon Jin Yi of "Gentleman's Dignity won as best new actress.

In addition, Seo In Guk and Jung Eunji of girl group A-Pink won as best couple for their roles in the drama "Reply 1997," which garnered the highest rating on cable and drew praises.

The best director award went to Jang Tae Yoo for "Tree with Deep Roots."

"Unexpected You" also won the best scriptwriter award while Kwak Dong Yeon won as best young actor.

The best original soundtrack (OST) award went to "Back In Time," the theme song by Lyn for "The Moon That Embraces The Sun."

A total of 15 winners were awarded in 11 categories in the 5th Korea Drama Awards, chosen by expert judges from different fields.

The awards ceremony was hosted by Jun Hun Moo and Jewelry's Kim Eun Jung. Performers were Lyn and A Pink.